Minimalist Parenting

23 May

parenting book simple life kids books review simplify

I have to confess, when reading Minimalist Parenting, something happened to me that has never happened before.  I was on the subway, and I was so engrossed in this book that I almost missed my stop.  The doors were closing when I looked up, ran over and literally put my hand in the door to get out (I had never done that before either, and I do not recommend it).  Simply put, Minimalist Parenting is a must read for the parents of today who have schedules filled with play dates, sports commitments, dance recitals, birthday parties, etc., along with homes filled with kids clutter and stuff.  This book recommends simplifying and slowing down so you can enjoy your life, and your children.

The minimizing clutter and stuff part really resonated with me.  I swear my kids have everything, and three of everything.  Does my daughter really need multiple diaries?  Do I need to save every homework assignment?  To be honest, I haven’t tackled the diaries yet, but I did purge the homework/art projects folders after reading this book and it felt great.  My son and I also went through the art supplies closet to determine what would really be used, or what was frivolous.  Another idea from Minimalist Parenting that I plan to tackle next is the stuffed animals.  I cannot fathom why my children have so many stuffed animals.  I don’t even know where they came from.  The moms at Minimalist Parenting had the same issue and found somewhere to donate stuffed animals.  My children are going to go through the massive piles of stuffed animals to determine which are to be kept, and which can be donated.  I am proud that they are willing to part with things, and are beginning to understand that life is more about having stuff that is meaningful, not collecting more and more stuff.

There’s lots of good information in the book, from pairing down extracurricular activities to how to go about preparing meals for the week.  There’s even a section devoted to carving out time for mom, which might be my favorite part, now that I think about it.

Minimalist Parenting was written by Christine Koh and Asha Dornfest, two successful “mom” bloggers who live today’s fast paced life and really get what families face, and provide real solutions for common problems.

Leave a Reply

