Ratio Custom Shirts {Daddy Gift Ideas}

19 Apr

daddy gift ideas father's day

I know it’s a little early to be thinking about Father’s Day, but men can be hard to shop for.  Why not skip the tie for Father’s Day and buy your favorite daddy a custom-made shirt?  My husband loves custom shirts and I have been buying them from a British company for years.  Then I heard about Ratio Clothing, a company that makes custom-made shirts in the USA for about the same price as a shirt from J.Crew.  Ratio Clothing is well-know among the personal shopping crowd, selling directly to customers online.  I first heard of them from an acquaintance – a butler in NYC.  They sell dress shirts, casual flannels and oxfords.

My husband’s biggest gripe with dress shirts is that they’re cut too wide.  He likes a nice slim fit so I ordered several for the holidays.  I used the measurements from my husband’s suit jacket and dress shirts (neck, chest, arm, etc.), without taking any actual measurements, and the online ordering was simple.  The shirts are beautifully made – the fabric is soft and strong, the fit is amazing (custom – can you believe?) and the fabric choices are both classic and modern.  The main gripe I have about the shirts is with how long they take, which is no different from the British company I was ordering from and is par for the course for custom-made shirts.  It means planning ahead and ordering at least 6 weeks in advance to guarantee delivery in time for your occasion.  For the procrastinators out there, you can print a picture of the shirt and gift wrap it.  I’ve had to do that in the past for gifts (tsk, tsk).

Also, I often order shirts for my husband with a monogram and I didn’t like the way the monogram turned out on these shirts.  It wasn’t crisp enough and the letters were very small.  Ratio was very responsive to my feedback and looked into the monogram issue.  Apparently they got a new monogramming machine and that’s the look of the new monograms.  They may change the monogramming machine in the future so you should ask before ordering if you want a monogram.  I’ll definitely order more shirts in the future, sans the monogram.

You really can’t go wrong with one of the Ratio shirts for daddy; it’s an indulgence that will make him feel appreciated.

Special thanks to Ratio Clothing for providing a sample for review purposes (I purchased 3 shirts after the initial sample and plan to order a few more for Father’s Day).

Leave a Reply

