Beach Style for Mom & Baby {fashion tip}

12 Aug

Summer is upon us!  While the water is exactly what my son and I crave, the sun is not the friend I once thought it was.  We both need hats to protect us from the sun’s rays: Jack needs it to protect his delicate skin and I need it to ward-off wrinkles.  Here are my favorite summer hat picks for baby and me.

Baby’s Style

After much research, I found a great online swim company with cute hats for my 8-month-old son.  Sunday Afternoons makes the perfect baby hat called the Kids Play Hat ($22).  The Kids Play Hat is light, has a clasp my son can’t figure out, is quick drying and great in the water.  As a bonus, the hat makes him look like he’s on safari all the time!  We bought a pair of giraffe and lion swim shorts to complete the look and get tons of compliments whenever he wears it.  While the cute factor is a plus, the best part is that he’s protected from the sun.  The hat comes in multiple colors and various sizes, including infant, baby, child or youth.  Jack has an average size head for his age and the infant size fits him perfectly. We ordered it in the cream/sand color combo, which gives him that safari look.

cute sun hat for boys summer sun protection

Mama’s Style

As for me, I needed a hat that would make my one-piece look intentional, rather than look like I’m just trying to hide my belly.  I decided on a black, wide brim hat from Zara ($25.90). It goes with my retro strapless suit and makes me feel elegant, a la Audrey or Katherine. No matter the style, a great sun hat makes me feel more confident and attractive at a time when my body isn’t exactly helping out my cause. This season there are so many styles to choose from so pick a look, whether classic or Annie Hall on the beach, and enjoy the confidence along with the shade.

hip sunhat for mom beach coverup

 

For more of a fedora/Annie Hall style, here are a few of my current favorites from Shopbop and Zappos (they also have fast and free shipping so you can still enjoy them for the remainder of the summer and they are classic enough for years to come).

Leave a Reply

