Getting There {travel with baby}

30 May
My husband and I are admitted travel addicts so when we learned we were having a baby, we were determined not to let the little guy slow us down. He was going to have a passport from the day he was born, we would be jet-setting to the Italian Riviera with him when he was just a couple months old, blah, blah, blah. Well, the first trip we have planned is a quick flight from San Francisco to Portland in July when he’ll be just over 4 months and it’s already causing me serious anxiety. Knowing now what an ordeal it is just to get out of the house to go to the park, I can’t imagine all the work it would take to get our little family ready for a long-weekend jaunt to my hometown.
I have visions of being like the couple from “Up All Night” (great show by the way if you’re a mama) trudging through the airport with what looked like enough stuff for a few weeks. I wonder if we’re going to be “those” parents?
I consider myself an expert packer. Well, at least I used to. But when it comes to packing for my little one, I have no clue. Do I have to check the stroller? How about the car seat? How much breast milk am I able to carry on without setting off alarms in the security line? How many diapers do I need for four days? The list of questions is endless.
Baby Center, which was my go-to site when I was pregnant, and is a great resource with lots of good tips about traveling with little ones.
The TSA site also has some good tips that I’ll (obsessively) be reading up on before our trip.
Do you have any good trips for traveling with kids? I’d love to hear them and I know other mamas would as well.
Happy Travels!
Leave a Reply

