Read to your Kids

15 Feb
Children's Reading List

I am an avid reader, always have been.  I was the one with her nose in a book anytime, anywhere, including in my room in the dark well after it was time to go to bed.  I also have memories of sitting in the back of my parents’ car, late at night after visiting friends out of town, trying to read by holding up a book against the window and waiting for us to pass streetlights, to the dismay of my parents.  They warned me, in both instances, that I would strain my eyes and end up with glasses.  You know what, they were right, but I love how I look wearing glasses, so it all worked out for the best.

Now, I am not here to advocate reading in the dark by any means.  I am simply extolling praise for reading.  I read to my children every night.  I love watching my daughter, now a reader herself, as she sounds out words and makes her way through a story.  I enjoy reading to my son, escaping to far away lands or teaching him about his favorite subjects.  The ritual is special, part of the nightly routine or on a lazy Sunday morning, all curled up together in someone’s warm and snuggly bed. 

My entire family embraces story time.  We have a ginormous collection of books, spread out throughout the house, and my daughter Hannah even has a reading corner in her room (more about that in another post).  This past fall, Hannah entered elementary school in the suburban New Jersey town where we live.  I had no idea what to expect with my first child starting Kindergarten.  So imagine my surprise, and delight, when I was told that Hannah’s homework assignment, FOR THE ENTIRE YEAR, is to read a book every night.  Brilliant, right?  We keep a monthly log, like the one displayed above, and hand it in on the first day of every month.  It has been a wonderful introduction to the school experience.

Also, there’s actual, scientific, statistical proof that reading to your children helps them developmentally.  Reading to young children has been known to promote language acquisition, is linked with literacy development, reading comprehension and overall success in school.  But in our house, we read because it is a fun thing to do.

2 Responses to “Read to your Kids”

  1. dana February 17, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    I couldnt agree more!! There is nothing better than snuggling up and reading their favorite story…even when its the same fairy tale OVER AND OVER OVER again…. 🙂

  2. Robin Jean Marie March 24, 2012 at 2:38 am #

    As the daughter of a children’s librarian, I whole-heartedly agree! “Richer than I you cannot be, I had a mother who read to me.” (S. Gillilian). My teen-age twin boys and their college-age siblings are all avid readers. So, keep it up, HIP Mom!

Leave a comment