Imagination Library Book Club {free books for kids}

28 Jan

This has to be one of my favorite discoveries for the little miss: Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library, which is a free book program for kids.  The program was started by the lovely Dolly Parton, who partners with different cities to sponsor a free book club for children under the age of 5.  The kids receive a free book every month!

Children's Book Club

Not all cities offer this program, but you can check on their site by clicking the register your child link.  The books are age-appropriate, though the first book that several of my friends and I all received was The Little Engine That Could (hard cover, not a board book).  Perhaps that’s Dolly’s fav?  It took a few months to get our first book, but now they come monthly and it’s so much fun to get them.  They’re great books – see the selection we’ve received so far, pictured above.  I know that the little miss will love getting her own mail as she gets older, and I love that we have a new book to add to the repertoire every month.  Did I mention that it’s FREE?  Read more about the program here.

One Response to “Imagination Library Book Club {free books for kids}”

  1. Jessi August 27, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    This program is amazing and I have already told a bunch of my freinds about it. I so look forward to the monthly mailing, and i’m sure my son will too as he gets older. What a nice way to fill out a personal library for a child. I love this program and would recommend that anyone check for local availability. Just know that in New York City, it takes about 4 or so months to start getting your books.

Leave a Reply

